Ergon Ensemble

In Vain

6 DEC 2016
Main Stage
A masterpiece that takes the audience to a journey through light and darkness, to a place that brings to mind a lithograph by Escher.
Full price: 12 - 15 - 18 €
Reduced, Friend & Small groups (5-9 people): 10 - 12 - 14 €
Large groups (10+ people): 9 - 11 - 13 €
People with disabilities & Unemployed: 5 €
Companions: 10 €
Zone 7 € (limited edition tickets)
Ergon Ensemble, the successful Greek ensemble specializing on contemporary music, will play for the fourth time at the Onassis Cultural Centre. This time it will present Georg Friedrich Haas’s pioneer work
In Vain (2000). This mesmerizing work by a leading exponent of spectral music, takes the audience through a journey from light to darkness and then back to light, bringing to the fore all those unfamiliar moments hiding in the shadows of traditional listening. 
Having chosen quite a different path from that of modernist Avant Garde, through this work the Austrian composer tries to ‘articulate emotions and states of the soul, so that people can embrace them as if they were their own’. Even lighting is used in In Vain in order to create a holistic musical experience for the audience. Committed to accurate interpretations of musical works, Ergon Ensemble is faced with the challenge of performing the work without a score, offering to the public an encounter with an astonishing ‘landscape’. The sense of hearing is sharpened in order to capture the way the work is constructed, bringing to mind the impossible, just as it appears in the works by the great visual artist Maurits Cornelis Escher (1898-1972).


Music Director: Kasper De Roo
Musicians: Nikos Nikopoulos (flute), Zacharias Tarpankos (flute), Kostas Giovanis (oboe), Kostas Tzekos (clarinet), Spyros Tzekos (clarinet), Dimtris Dakovanos (bassoon), Guido de Flaviis (saxophone), Manos Ventouras (horn), Giannis Gounaris (horn), Andreas Rolandos Theodorou (trombone), Vangelis Karabas (trombone), Babis Taliadouros (percussion), Marios Nikolaou (percussion), Christos Sakellaridis (piano), Gogo Xagara (harp), Konstantinos Raptis (accordion), Kostas Panagiotidis (violin), Panagiotis Tziotis (violin), Morfo Papadimitriou (violin), Ali Basegmezler (viola), Angela Giannaki (viola), Dimitris Travlos (cello), Antonis Pratsinakis (cello), Nikos Tsoukalas (double bass)

Ergon Ensemble Manager: Alexandros Mouzas
Sound design: Katerina Vamva

read more

Tuesday 6 December
After performance talk with the participants

sponsoring / partnerships

Supported by

Hospitality sponsor

Medical cover