Klangforum Wien

12 JAN 2017
Main Stage
90 minutes
The artistic vision of Klangforum Wien is to bring back in music the sense of what is current and important.
Full price: 7 - 10 - 12 - 15 €
Reduced, Friend & Small groups (5-9 people): 8 - 10 - 12 €
Large groups (10+ people): 7 - 9 - 11 €
People with disabilities & Unemployed: 5 €
Companions: 10 €

Group sales T.: +30 213 017 8176 and groupsales@sgt.gr
Drawing on its artistic vision, Klangforum Wien has a special approach to music, aiming to reinstate to it a sense of what is current and important, which has been lost during the previous century. The concert’s programme includes recent works by composers from three different countries, each one characterized by a different aesthetic approach. 
There are three underlying layers in Tratado dello inasible (2013) by Alberto Posadas (b. 1967): the detailed curves of fractal theory, the miniscule sound nuances of musical instruments, and the relation between music, architecture, and painting. 
Born in 1954, Beat Furrer composes music that explores clear, abstract forms. Keeping symbolism and extramusical meaning to a minimum, he focuses on gestures. In Linea dell’orizzonte (2012), they present themselves as distorted shadows. The Italian title is open to interpretation. 
An organic whole drawing on jazz and ‘popular’ musics, Howl (2011) by Michael Lapidakis (b. 1960) converses with Allen Ginsberg. Heard from a recording, he recites one of the most emblematic poems of the beat generation. 
The music of Pierluigi Billone (b. 1960) is a special journey of sound and ritual with regard to the expressive potential of musical instruments. In Ebe und anders (2014) the trumpet and the trombone are the leading soloist, playing as one instrument. Billone’s music brings together experimental techniques and jazz elements.


Conductor: Bas Wiegers
Anders Nyqvist: Trumpet solo   
Kevin Fairbairn: Trombone solo
Yaron Deutsch: E-Guitar solo
Olivier Vivares: Clarinets
Gerald Preinfalk: Saxophon
Anders Nyqvist: Trumpet
Kevin Fairbairn: Trombone
Krassimir Sterev: Accordion
Yaron Deutsch: E-Guitar
Joonas Ahonen: Piano
Björn Wilker: Percussion
Lukas Schiske: Percussion
Gunde Jäch-Micko: Violin
Andreas Lindenbaum: Violoncello
Michael Seifried: Doublebass
Klangforum Wien is kindly supported by ERSTE BANK.

read more

Thursday 12 January
After performance talk with the participants
Chaired by Christos Carras, General Director and Artistic Director of Music at the OCC

sponsoring / partnerships

Supported by

Hospitality sponsor

Medical cover