Dimitris Papadimitriou / ONASSIS CULTURAL CENTRE

Dimitris Papadimitriou

Music Soundtracks

6-7 MAR 2018
Main Stage
Dimitris Papadimitriou's new symphonic work, inspired by paintings. A concert in which music and the visual arts proceed together, sometimes struggling for the upper hand and sometimes complementing one another.
In March 2017, the composer Dimitris Papadimitriou presented the première of a symphonic work entitled Three Musical Soundtracks performed by the Athens State Orchestra in a concert which also included symphonic music by Michalis Economou and Tasos Rosopoulos.

The idea of an interaction between music and the visual arts provided the starting point for the composition of all the works performed that evening. The three composers did not take an academic approach, choosing instead to wait for musical worlds and aesthetics to be revealed to them, inspired by their encounters with paintings. They were given free rein to approach the artworks – their form, colour, techniques and content  – in their own way.

The three parts of Dimitris Papadimitriou's work were inspired, respectively, by George Iakovidis' Children's Concert, a thematic group of works by the impressionist painter Claude Monet, and the Pouring and Dripping technique of the American artist Jackson Pollock.
The composer's new symphonic work will be created in the same way, with more Musical Soundtracks emerging from his journeys through the eras in which the paintings were created.


Artistic Οversight: Rallou Vogiatzi, Dimitris Papadimitriou
Composer: Dimitris Papadimitriou
Performed by: Athens State Orchestra - ΚΟΑ

sponsoring / partnerships

Official air carrier sponsor

Hospitality sponsor

Medical cover

Supported by