IRCAM - "Machinations"

Georges Aperghis | Composer Portrait

8 - 9 April 2011
Main Stage
<em>Machinations</em> is a ‘musical spectacle’ with four female performers, a man, a computer and video projectors, with texts written by the composer and the philosophy professor, François Regnault.
15 - 20 - 30 - 40 € 
Concs. 10 €
Machinations is a ‘musical spectacle’ with four female performers, a man, a computer and video projectors. The female performers consist of a singer (Donatienne Michel-Dansac), a violinist (Geneviève Strosser), a flautist (Sylvie Sacoun) and an actress (Sylvie Levesque), though they all assume a different and unfamiliar role here: standing behind illuminated tables, they exclaim phonemes, gesticulate and project elemental objects representing the former. The male performer (Olivier Pasquet) intervenes with the computer, sometimes in support of and sometimes in competition with the others, creating an audiovisual dialogue with the actions of the four women.

The work’s texts were written by the composer and his erstwhile collaborator, the philosophy professor and author, François Regnault. That said, they are not actually texts, but rather ‘pre-texts’ which, though meaningless, still have communicational power: they represent in abbreviated form the story of the birth of language, as a code of communication, out of Protean sounds and primeval noises. In the same way, the juxtaposition of simple objects and computer programmes represents the story of the birth of science and ‘machines’.


Music and Stage Direction: Georges Aperghis
Texts: François Regnault, Georges Aperghis
Lighting and Video Design: Daniel Levy
Assistant Stage Director: Emily Loizeau
IRCAM Computer Music Designers: Olivier Pasquet, Tom Mays
Performers: Sylvie Levesque, Donatienne Michel-Dansac, Sylvie Sacoun, Geneviève Strosser (voices), Olivier Pasquet (computer)

IRCAM Technical Team
Maxime Le Saux: sound engineer
Frédéric Vandromme: stage manager
Marc Richaud: lighting & video operation

Avec le soutien de l’INSTITUT FRANÇAIS – Ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes

15 Apr 2011

20:30 Main Stage
15 - 20 - 30 - 40 € 
Concs 8 €


Klangforum Wien Georges Aperghis | Composer Portrait

13 Apr 2011

20:30 Main Stage
15 - 25 - 30 € 
Concs 8 €


dissonArt ensemble Georges Aperghis | Composer Portrait