Camerata on period instruments / ONASSIS CULTURAL CENTRE

Camerata on period instruments

Rococo happenings in music: Haydn, Tchaikowski & Schnittke

28 November 2012
Main Stage
Rococo happenings… in music.
15 – 18 – 28 €
Concs 10 – 12 – 15 €
The “Farewell” symphony was the musical fruit of a protest which Haydn directed at Prince Esterházy, whose court composer he was, in 1772. In order to convey to the prince that the court musicians could not stay at the nobleman’s summer residence away from their families any longer, Haydn asked each musician to blow out the candle on their music stand after playing the short parting solo he had written for each of them, and then to leave the room. In the end, just two violins are left to bring the piece through to its conclusion. The Camerata plays the symphony on period instruments and with 13 musicians—the same number Haydn had at his disposal.

Almost two centuries later, one of the most famous composers of the 20th century, Alfred Schnittke, was inspired by Haydn’s musical happening to create his own based on an unfinished sketch for a pantomime by Mozart. Which is how he came to write Moz-ART, which is played à la Haydn with the musicians departing one by one at the end, leaving the conductor all alone conducting… no one!

The playfulness of Haydn’s age also inspired one of Tchaikovski’s masterpieces: his variations on a rococo theme for cello and orchestra.


Orchestra conducted by George Petrou


F.J. Haydn
Symphony no. 45, “Farewell”, in F sharp minor (1772)
on period instruments

P.I. Tchaikovski
Variations on a rococo theme, for cello and orchestra, op. 33 (1877)
on modern instruments
Soloist: Renato Ripo, cello

Alfred Schnittke
Moz-ART à la Haydn (1977)
Musical happening for 2 violins, 2 small string ensembles, double bass and conductor
on modern instruments

10 Oct 2012 - 30 Apr 2013

10:30 Main Stage
5€ per student


Open dress rehearsals Camerata on period instruments