Metamorphoses IV: Works by R. Strauss & Arvo Pärt

4 February 2013
Main Stage
The Camerata, conducted by George Petrou, reveals a different side of itself in its first concert at the OCC for 2013.
15 – 18 – 28 €
Concs 10 – 12 – 15 €
Richard Strauss’ much-loved masterpiece Metamorphosen has lent its name to the Camerata’s cycle of concerts at the OCC this season. Nearing the end of his life and watching his homeland, Germany, collapse as World War Two entered its final phase, Strauss turned to the funeral march from Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony. Quoting its main theme, he changed Metamorphosen into one of the most stirring and moving works of the 20th century.

Arvo Pärt’s Fourth Symphony, which the celebrated Estonian composer wrote in 2008, is a work of comparable depth. The work, which is receiving its Greek premiere tonight, is scored for string orchestra, harp, tympani and percussion. It is called “Los Angeles” for two reasons: firstly, because it was commissioned by the renowned Los Angeles Philharmonic, who premiered it, but also because the composer was inspired by the text of the Russian Orthodox Kanon pokajanen [Canon for guardian angels].


Orchestra conducted by George Petrou

Richard Strauss
(study for 23 solo strings, 1945)

Arvo Pärt
Symphony no 4, "Los Angeles"
(of the angels, 2008)
1. Con sublimita
2. Affannoso
3. Deciso
Greek premiere

10 Oct 2012 - 30 Apr 2013

10:30 Main Stage
5€ per student


Open dress rehearsals Camerata on period instruments