Camerata on period instruments / ONASSIS CULTURAL CENTRE

Camerata on period instruments

Metamorphoses V: Works by Vivaldi, Handel, Scarlatti, Kouroupos, Athineos, Moysidis

20 April 2013
Main Stage
The sounds of Vivaldi, Handel and Scarlatti transformed into new music by Kouroupos, Athinaios and Moysidis.
15 – 18 – 28 €
Concs 10 – 12 – 15 €
Concertos and Concerti grossi by Handel, Vivaldi and A. Scarlatti inspire new creations by three leading Greek composers, Giorgos Kouroupos, Nikos Athinaios and Markos Moysidis, written especially for the Camerata on period instruments and the Onassis Cultural Centre, which is hosting their première performances. The fiery music of the concerto in the 18th-century Italian style, with its virtuoso soloists and novel combinations of numerous instruments, becomes the starting point for a unique dialogue between old and new in the tones of the Camerata’s baroque period instruments. A musical encounter between the extroverted baroque style and the eclectic musical idiom of the 21st century in an evening that surely holds many surprises—and a fair amount of adrenalin—in store.


Orchestra conducted by George Petrou.


George Frideric Handel
Concerto grosso, HWV 315, in F major
1. Andante – Allegro - Lentamente
2. Andante
3. Allegro
4. Minuetto  

Markos Moysidis
"Lacrimae or Seven Fears"

Antonio Vivaldi
Concerto for bassoon and orchestra in E minor, RV 484
1. Allegro poco
2. Andante
3. Allegro

Soloist: Alexandros Economou (baroque bassoon)


Giorgos Kouroupos
"Lamento – Concerto grosso" for voice, transverse flute, baroque oboe, baroque bassoon, cello and orchestra on period instruments
1. Andante a piacere Desolation
2. Prestissimo – a piacere Wrath
3. Moderato Bitterness, to poetry by William Blake

Soloist: Eirini Karagianni (mezzo-soprano), Zacharias Tarpagos (transverse flute), Giannis Papagiannis (baroque oboe), Alexandros Economou (baroque bassoon), Christopher Humphrys (cello)

Alessandro Scarlatti
Concerto grosso no.3, in F major
1. Allegro
2. Largo
3. Allegro
4. Largo
5. Allegro

Nikos Athinaios
1. Allegro
2. Adagio
3. Presto


10 Oct 2012 - 30 Apr 2013

10:30 Main Stage
5€ per student


Open dress rehearsals Camerata on period instruments