ARTéfacts ensemble

Freak out!

14 February 2013
Upper Stage
Frank Zappa, Kama Sutra, Steve Reich, New York underground… Welcome to Freak out!
18 € | Concs 10 €
The ARTéfacts ensemble is a Greek contemporary music group which has no qualms about breaking the mould. Intent on exploring and interpreting the contemporary repertoire, the ensemble seeks to offer audiences a new perspective on its performance both by broadening the concept of a concert and investigating the expressive potential of the modern multimedia show. Since it was founded in 2007, the ensemble has staged concerts and multimedia performances in Athens and the Greek provinces, and entered into frequent collaborations with artists from a range of fields (including the director Thomas Moschopoulos and the composer Haralambos Gogios). In this concert, the ensemble will perform works by composers who use the interaction between acoustic instruments and electronic media to project various perspectives on their subject-matter onto the map of contemporary spectral music. The architecture of their musical constructs is based on a range of aesthetic approaches, while the ensemble explores aspects of the works’ content through the addition of video screened throughout the concert.

After the concert there will be an open discussion with the performers and the audience.

Steve Reich: New York Counterpoint
Alejandro Viñao: Tumblers*
Philippe Hurel: Localized corrosion* 
Jacob Ter Veldhuis: Grab It! (composers video)
Tristan Murail: Bois flotté* (video: Hervé Bailly-Basin, Editions Henry Lemoine)
Pierre Jodlowski: Coliseum*
Frank Zappa: G-Spot Tornadο (orchestration: Manos Ventouras)
* Greek premiere


ARTéfacts ensemble
Louizos Aslanidis: video, directorial oversight
Spyros Tzekos: clarinet
Guido De Flaviis: saxophone
Laertis Kokolanis: violin
Marios Dapergolas: viola
Thodoris Vazakas: percussion
Kostas Seremetis: percussion
Nikos Tsoukalas: double bass
Dimitris Travlos: cello
Vangelis Stathoulopoulos: flute
Ai Motohashi-Sideri: piano
Andreas Rolandos Theodorou: trombone
Alexandros Drymonitis: electric guitar, live electronics
Manos Ventouras: horn