Athens State Orchestra / ONASSIS CULTURAL CENTRE

Athens State Orchestra

Update Contemporary Music Festival

17 February 2014
Main Stage
The Athens State Orchestra in a concert with emphasis on the musical avant-garde of the early 20th and 21st century in France.
15 – 18 – 28 €
Concs 10 – 12 – 15 €
Unemployed 5 €
The 2013-2014 season will see the Athens State Orchestra inaugurate its collaboration with the OCC in two concerts during the first half of 2014. The two events will share a common theme -the musical avant-garde in early 20th and 21st century France- which fits in perfectly with this season’s OCC programme.

In the first concert, works by Maurice Ravel and Igor Stravinsky are juxtaposed against the première performance of a work by the young Greek composer, Nikolas Tzortzis, who studied and lives in France, and a fascinating piece by the young French composer, Raphaël Cendo.

The distinguished Greek pianist Stephanos Thomopoulos, who has lived and worked in France for many years, will be appearing alongside the Athens State Orchestra.

There will be a short pre-concert presentation of the works by Titos Gouvelis.


Conducted by Vasilis Christopoulos
Stefanos Thomopoulos: piano


Nikolas Tzortzis
Incompatible(s) IX, hommage à Nikos Mamangakis, for large orchestra
(commissioned by the Athens State Orchestra, première)

Maurice Ravel
Piano concerto for the left hand


Raphaël Cendo
Rage in the Heaven City

Igor Stravinsky
The Firebird Suite (1919)

21 Feb 2014

20:30 Main Stage
15 – 18 – 28 €
Concs 10 – 12 – 15 €
Unemployed 5 €


"Luna park" - Georges Aperghis Update Contemporary Music Festival

20 Feb 2014

21:00 Upper Stage
18 €
Concs 10 € | Unemployed 5 €



Yiannis Kyriakides - Maze Εnsemble Update Contemporary Music Festival

14 Feb 2014

21:00 Upper Stage
18 €
Concs 10 € | Unemployed 5 €



String Quartet Tetraktys Update Contemporary Music Festival